Sunday, June 28

ASCAP Top Songwriters

The songwriting/production team of Christopher"Tricky"Stewart & The-Dream tied for songwriter of the year honors with fellow songwriting/production duo Stargate(Tor Hermansen & Mikkel Eriksen) at the 22nd annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards.

These gentlemen were recognized for their work on five songs, including "Just Fine" by Mary J.Blige, "Touch My Body" by Mariah Carey and "I Luv Your Girl" by The Dream. Five of the songs earning kudos for Stargate are "Miss Independent" by Ne-Yo, "Spotlight" by Jennifer Hudson and "Take a Bow" by Rihanna. All of these songs were certified hits.

Smokey Robinson was honored with ASCAP's Rhythm & Soul Heritage Award co-presented by Motown Records founder Berry Gordy, singer/songwriters Nick Ashford & Valerie Simpson and ASCAP president/chairman Paul Williams.

Singer/songwriter Alicia Keys received the night's other special award, ASCAP's Golden Note Award. Presented by ASCAP's Williams, the award recognizes songwriters, composers and artist who have achieved extraordinary career milestones.

When looking to achieve greatness understand the names above have kept their place with consistency. Find your niche and make it WERK!

We Want to Know Your Opinion... Leave Your Comments in the Comment Box Below!!

Come out and experience "I do Music" for yourself on the 1ST THURSDAY OF EVERY MONTH @ Apache Cafe!

If You Enjoyed This Article Click Here to Subscribe

I dO Music!
"Empowering Musicians Worldwide"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Type Comments Here...